Edmonton Oilers: The 1990 Stanley Cup Champions

On this date in 1990, the Edmonton Oilers won their fifth Stanley Cup, beating the Boston Bruins in a five-game final. The Final will be remembered for game one which still stands as the longest Stanley Cup Final game played in the modern NHL. Despite being soundly outshot by the Bruins, the Oilers won the game 3–2 when Petr Klima scored at 15:13 of the third overtime.  The Oilers would go on to defeat the Bruins in five games, and win their first Cup without Gretzky. For his superlative goaltending, Bill Ranford was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy. It was their first win without Wayne Gretzky, but then everything changed. Salaries soared, the Oilers couldn’t afford all their stars. Parity became a league initiative and dynasties took a tumble. Since 2003, there has been a new champ every spring. As for the last Canadian team to celebrate a Cup, it was the Montreal Canadiens 20 years ago, in a whole other era.


Photo: Ryan Remiorz/CP


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s